Congratulations to our Award Winners for the 2016 Season

CATCHER –  Buster Posey – LA Quakes
One of those players that is recognized by the simple use of his first name.  The unquestioned leader of the Quakes and one of the faces of the DCL, Posey, slashed .331 / .375 / .412 in route to earning this honor.  He earned 6 first place votes and 1 second place vote.
Posey 33 points
S. Perez 20 points
Pierzynski 6 points
Realmuto 2 points
Lucroy 1 points
Cervelli 1 points
FIRST BASE – Joey Votto – Colorado Captains
Votto played in every game for the Captains in 2016 and beat out a tough crop of competition to win this award.  The “Prince of Process” had his on-base skills rewarded by the voters – his slash line was an impressive .305 / .458 / .502 .  He earned 3 first place votes, a second place vote and a third.  He was left off of 2 ballots.
Votto 19 points
Abreu 18 points
Belt 12 points
Goldschmidt 6 points
Duda 3 points
Bour 3 points
Rizzo 2 points
SECOND BASE – Dee Gordon – New York Dead Rabbits
84 steals in the first two DCL seasons, a .348 average, and slick defense earned Gordon back to back awards as the best second baseman in the DCL.  He received 6 first place votes and 1 second place vote.
Gordon 33 points
D. Murphy 16 points
Panik 10 points
Lemahieu 3 points
B. Phillips 1 points
SHORTSTOP – Brandon Crawford – Baltimore Black Cats
Crawford was chosen on all six completed ballots as the best shortstop.  His outstanding defense and offensive performance was definitely one for the ages.  He slashed a ridiculous .345 / .422 / .645 .
Crawford 30 points
Tulowitzki 8 points
A. Simmons 7 points
Hechavarria 5 points
Aybar 4 points
THIRD BASE – Nolan Arenado – Washington Express
Nolan repeats as the best third baseman in the DCL thanks to the highlight reel defensive gems he makes seemingly on a nightly basis and his incredible run production as his 21 homers and 68 RBI prove.  The home run champ (tied with Harper) overall he slashed .302 / .353 / .604 .  He was first on six ballots and left off of one.
Arenado 30 points
M. Duffy 14 points
Machado 6 points
Spangenberg 5 points
Seager 4 points
Freese 3 points
K. Bryant 1 points
OUTFIELD (3 players earn the award)
#1 – Bryce Harper – Houston Generals
What can be said about someone who batted over .400 had an on base percentage over .500 and slugged over .700 other than timeless.  This was a once in a lifetime.  He led the league in homers, runs, walks, average, on base percentage, and slugging.  He was first on every ballot and his slash line was .412 / .525 / .736 .
#2 – Michael Brantley – Baltimore Black Cats
Brantley repeats as one of the top three outfielders for back to back seasons because of his consistent bat.  He led the league in hits and doubles and was second in average and second in runs scored.  He slashed ,362 / .409 / .537 .  Brantley was second on every ballot.
#3 – Carlos Gonzalez – Milwaukee Ignitors
Cargo’s all around excellence earned him the award despite only having 237 AB’s.  He dominated with the bat.  He slashed .329 / .419 / .679 .  His 20 bombs and .679 slugging percentage were second best in the league.
Harper – 66 points
M. Brantley 60 points
C. Gonzalez 46 points
Yelich 43 points
Parra 40 points
Pollock 21 points
Trout 10 points
Granderson 8 points
McCutchen 6 points
B. Hamilton 6 points
Zobrist 6 points
Blackmon 5 points
Marte 5 points
Braun 1 points
Dietrich 1 points
ROLAIDS RELIEF – Pedro Strop – LA Quakes
Strop earned the award thanks to his league leading 20 saves and solid 2.93 ERA.  He earned 3 first place votes and 2 second place votes.  He was left off of two ballots.
Strop – 21 points
Rondon 14 points
K. Jansen 10 points
A.J. Ramos 7 points
Melancon 3 points
Betances 3 points
Rosenthal 2 points
Familia 1 points
Chapman 1 points
Ziegler 1 points
MVP – Bryce Harper – Houston Generals
This was a season where there were a couple players that had historic performances.  No one though could match Bryce Harper’s performance.  For the second consecutive season the MVP vote was unanimous.
Harper – 98 points
B. Crawford 54 points
Arenado 54 points
Brantley 53 points
C. Gonzalez 32 points
Gordon 22 points
Parra 17 points
Votto 16 points
Kershaw 14 points
Yelich 12 points
Posey 12 points
Scherzer 10 points
J. Abreu 10 points
Belt 2 points
D. Murphy 2 points
M. Duffy 2 points
Gray 1 points
K. Jansen 1 points
A.J. Pollock 1 points
Max Scherzer – Houston Generals and Clayton Kershaw – Washington Express
We follow the MLB rules for Cy Young voting.  From the number of players we place on a ballot and the scoring for those corresponding votes.  We also follow what occurs in the event of tie.  In this case the award will be shared as Max and Clayton ended with the same number of points.  They each ended with 3 first place votes, 2 second place votes, 1 third place vote, and 1 fourth place vote.
Scherzer and Kershaw were simply horses completing 17 starts between the two of them.  They both went 10-6 – 10 wins led the league and they were 1st and 3rd in strikeouts.  These two stars were a major reason the Express and Generals won their divisions.
Scherzer 34 points
Kershaw 34 points
Greinke 23 points
Gray 11 points
Bumgarner 10 points
Hammel 3 points
Strasburg 2 points
Sale – 1 points
Leake – 1 pionts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *